...Worth a thousand words

By Roger Cowan

Yorktown News-View

The DeWitt County Shutterbugs recently announced their 21st Annual Photography Contest and Exhibition. With categories covering a wide range of subjects and open to both youth and adults, the contest draws quite a few entries every year.

Each category will award the first through third place winners a cash prize and a ribbon, while the Special Texas Wildflower Award winner will receive an $80 prize and a ribbon for the best wildflower photo. The photo selected as Best of Show will receive $100 and a ribbon. Entries will be judged on their technical merit and artistic impression by three qualified judges giving a ranking of 1 to 10 from each judge. The scores will be totaled and used to rank the images. An example of the quality and expertise of the judges chosen can be found in one of their previous judges, Victoria resident and widely known photog Danny Vivain. A professional photographer with more than three deacades of experience, Vivain has long been the premier photographer in the Victoria area.

Last year, the Shutterbugs contest saw 376 entries from around the area. Yorktown resident Frank Klein took home a whopping three first place ribbons, two third place ribbons, and two Honorable Mentions. Another Yorktown resident, Carolyn Mooreland, brought home a second place in the Black and White category, while Peggy Oliver of Nordheim gained an Honorable Mention in the Miscellaneous category.

The categories are listed as follows: Animals, Landscapes/Scenic, Architecture, Miscellaneous, Black and White, Portraits/People, Flowers/Plants, and Creative Effects. Entires fees are $5 for each Adult entry, and $3 for each Youth entry. A photographer may enter as many photographs as they like in each category. 

Entries will be accepted starting March 1 and running through March 29, and may be dropped off at the Cuero Municipal Library. On April 7, the entries will be judged, and April 10 the highest scored entries will be part of a photography exhibit in the Cuero Municipal Library until May 3.

A copy of the contest rules and entry forms can be found on the Shutterbugs website, www.dewittcshutterbugs.com

Shown is the 2017 Best of Show winning photo by Charles R. Boone.

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398